- Key Words
- Social Media Marketing
Here is some perspective:
It’s not just the internet that’s growing rapidly, there are other important milestones including:
◦More than half the world now uses a smartphone;
◦Almost two-thirds of the world’s population now has a mobile phone;
◦More than half of the world’s web traffic now comes from mobile phones;
◦More than half of all mobile connections around the world are now ‘broadband’;
◦More than one in five of the world’s population shopped online in the past 30 days.
#1. Social Media Marketing in Kenya
Source : http://gs.statcounter.com
So what do these internet stats mean for a small business?
We can clearly see that:
- More than 7 Million Kenyans are active on social media
- Whatsapp and Facebook are the leading platforms, followed by Youtube and Instagram.
- It means all small businesses in Kenya need to be relevantly present in this platforms.
- Which brings us to the next big point:
#2. Best practice in Social Media marketing in Kenya for small businesses
The 80/20 principle applies here:
- Aim to inspire and engage, the sales will happen naturally.
- Use images that people can connect with – be natural
- Brand your images relevantly
- Use a social tone – nothing too serious or too selling.
- Be responsive – No one wants to get a chat response 24 hrs later, do an auto responder if necessary.
Here is an example from one on the brands I support.
#3. Social Media Advertising in Kenya
Here are some quick wins on social media advertising for small business in Kenya:
- We are in Kenya – Remember the stats we began with?. What is the biggest social media platform in Kenya in 2018?. You guessed right, its Whatsapp, followed by Facebook. If you didn’t already know, Facebook own Whatsapp. This means if you advertise on these two platforms effectively, you are likely to reach the widest possible audience in Kenya on social media today. In a different post, I will explore ways to advertise on both Whatsapp Facebook. Did you know about whatsapp business by the way?. Whatsapp launched a business version of the app this year. We will look at how to use it in another post.
- Tell a story – As humans, we are wired to listen to a story. Trust me, people will click to read a good story even when they know they are being sold something. Don’t just post a bland selling advert, tell a story about your product. It is a simple marketing philosophy, always sell the benefit, not the product.
- Call to action – All ads that convert have a call to action, something that prompts a desired the action. Those colorful click here, or sign up now! must be in the right place.
- Choose your audience – Carefully select your audience, remember, you are spending your hard earned money on this. So invest it wisely. Very few products need everyone to see it, so if yours is not that product, ensure you choose your audience wisely. Most social media platforms, if not all, give you a variety of ways to segment an audience. Either by location, gender, age, interests etc, pick your most ideal clients.
- Test and adjust – Run a short ad first, may be for a day or two, then review the results and adjust accordingly. If it is working fine, then keep going.
This brings us to the final point on this post for small business in Kenya, how to measure if what you are doing is working.
#4. Why you need to measure effectiveness and ROI
If you know something about me is that I love being effective. You can learn more about how I do it here. There is no point is spending money and time marketing your small business online in Kenya when you can’t measure the results. I believe every investment worth your money has to have a demonstrable, attractive ROI (Return on Investment) to warrant your attention.
I usually cringe when old school marketing managers sign off millions to advertising platforms whose results they can’t measure. Don’t get me wrong, I personally don’t have a problem with TV or print, they have their place. But for a small business in Kenya with a shoe string budget, please, don’t go down that road.
So how do you measure ROI when doing internet marketing for your small business?, it is by interrogating these key metrics;
- Impressions : The total number of times your ad was served
- Engagements : This is a measure of different interactions of the ad by those who viewed it like liking, commenting, shares etc.
- Conversion rate : This is factor of the people who see you advertisement and those who take the desired action. For example , if 500 people see you ad and only 50 take the desired action, then you conversion rate is 50 ÷ 500 * 100 = 10%.
- Clicks: The number of times your ad was clicked on
- Click through rate (CTR) : CTR is the number of clicks that your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown: clicks ÷ impressions = CTR. For example, if you had 5 clicks and 100 impressions, then your CTR would be 5%.